Martin R. Larsen HUPO 2019 - 18th Human Proteome Organization World Congress

Martin R. Larsen

Prof. Martin R. Larsen is a lab-based mass spectrometrist with extensive knowledge in biological mass spectrometry, protein chemistry and molecular and cellular biology. He did his postgraduate training in the prestigious mass spectrometry group of Prof. Peter Roepstorff at Odense University, followed by postdoctoral training at the Australian Proteome Analysis Facility in Sydney, Australia. His research has been in developing new methods for the characterization of post-translational modifications of proteins and bridging biological mass spectrometry and biomedical chemistry. The main focus has been on developing methods for phosphoproteomics and applying these to biological and biomedical problems, especially in relation to excitable cells, such as pancreatic beta cells and neurons. He has developed methods for characterization of phosphorylated proteins which are now used by most research groups in the international phosphoproteomics research community. These methods have set a new direction for phosphoproteomics that allows identification of phosphorylated peptides from small amounts of highly complex samples enabling characterization of signaling pathways. Recently, he has furthermore developed robust methods for the quantitative and simultaneous assessment of glycopeptides (especially sialylated glycopeptides), Lysine acetylated peptides and reversibly modified cysteine-containing peptides, which have revealed substantial cross-talks between PTMs in cellular signaling in different biological systems. Prof. Larsen has published more than 180 scientific papers, 20 book chapters and has 3 patents. He has received several fellowships and prizes such as the Danish STENO and SKOU Fellowships, Lundbeck junior group Leader fellowship and the Danish Elite Research prize. Furthermore he has received more than 25 personal research grants since completion of his PhD and several grants as co-applicant. Prof. Larsen has served on the HUPO Council for three consecutive terms (2010-2019).

Abstracts this author is presenting: